Then predrill the hole with a 1/8-in. A screw in a stud can hold between 80 and 100 pounds. bit. I've read a few guides which specify different nails (3.75*75 and 4.5*100 - I don't have a brad) and also 3 by 2 or 4 by 2 studs. Use a stud finder to locate the wall studs, and mark their position on the trim piece. attach a 2x4(92inches long) to my wall horizontally. Three screws can hold 240-300 pounds. I know this is basic but I am a newbie to DIY :) Please Help :) I am trying to hang a book shelf on my wall. These screws have large, coarse threads that give them a lot of gripping power in the wood. Withdrawal loads : If the forces will apply pressure that wants to pull the boards straight apart, called withdrawal pressure, be sure that ample screw threads are inserted into the receiving board. What size and/or type of screw should i use in a wall stud? Learn how here. The easiest way to increase the amount of weight a screw in a stud can hold is to simply double up. Game plan. attaching it to 4 studs, 2 screws in each stud. Be sure to distribute the weight across as many as you can. You will want to choose a screw that's at least 1 1/4 inches long. bit. The MOST important part is to screw into the center of a stud. If you have room for a second or a third screw, just add more. Two screws can hold 160-200 pounds. Similar to pegboard but with far greater holding power, a French cleat wall adds heavy-duty storage to a garage, workshop, or kitchen. When you find a stud, you’ll hear a beeping noise and will know that it’s safe to drill there. Set the drill clutch “light” so that the screw doesn’t strip out. Drywall screws' lengths and gauges, thread types, heads, points, and composition at first might seem incomprehensible. Drywall screws have become the standard fastener for securing full or partial sheets of drywall to wall studs or ceiling joists. Screws used to attach 1/2-inch drywall to wood framing should be long enough to go into the wood at least 5/8 inch. [amazo